Ramesh Raskar, Associate Professor, MIT Media Lab

Ramesh Raskar joined the Media Lab from Mitsubishi Electric Research Laboratories in 2008 as head of the Lab’s Camera Culture research group. His research interests span the fields of computational photography, inverse problems in imaging and human-computer interaction.
Recent projects and inventions include transient imaging to look around a corner, a next generation CAT-Scan machine, imperceptible markers for motion capture (Prakash), long distance barcodes (Bokode), touch+hover 3D interaction displays (BiDi screen), low-cost eye care devices (Netra,Catra), new theoretical models to augment light fields (ALF) to represent wave phenomena and algebraic rank constraints for 3D displays(HR3D).

In 2004, Raskar received the TR100 Award from Technology Review, which recognizes top young innovators under the age of 35, and in 2003, the Global Indus Technovator Award, instituted at MIT to recognize the top 20 Indian technology innovators worldwide. In 2009, he was awarded a Sloan Research Fellowship. In 2010, he received the Darpa Young Faculty award. Other awards include Marr Prize honorable mention 2009, LAUNCH Health Innovation Award, presented by NASA, USAID, US State Dept and NIKE, 2010, Vodafone Wireless Innovation Project Award (first place), 2011. He holds over 40 US patents and has received four Mitsubishi Electric Invention Awards. He is currently co-authoring a book on Computational Photography. [Personal webpage http://raskar.info]


Vivek Sharma
Computer Vision, Machine Learning, Video Understanding and Privacy


Tristan Swedish
Graduate Student
Abhishek Singh
Graduate Student
Praneeth Vepakomma
Graduate Student
Ayush Chopra
Graduate Student
Connor Henley
Graduate Student
Subhash Sadhu
Graduate Student
Kushagra Tiwary
Graduate Student
Tzofi Klinghoffer
Graduate Student

Research Staff

Siddharth Somasundaram
Technical Assistant

Visiting Researchers



Post-docs, Scientists, and Staff:

PhD and Masters Students:

  • Tomohiro Maeda, 2020
  • Guy Satat, 2019
  • Shantanu Sinha, MS 2016, now at Meta
  • Hisham Bedri, MS 2015
  • Hang Zhao, MS 2015
  • Amy Canham, MS 2014, now at Startup
  • Hayato Ikoma, MS 2014, now at ENS, France
  • Chunglin Wen, MS 2014, now at Google
  • Aydin Arpa, MS 2013, now at Startup
  • Kshitij Marwah, MS 2013, now at Startup
  • Roarke Horstmeyer, MS 2011, now at Caltech
  • Rohit Pandharkar, MS 2011, now at Mahindra & Mahindra
  • Kevin Chiu, M.S. 2011,  now at Startup
  • Jaewon Kim, M.S. 2010, now at KAIST, South Korea
  • Ahmed Kirmani, M.S. 2010, now at 3Dim